Shelf Control #297: The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn

Shelves final

Welcome to Shelf Control — an original feature created and hosted by Bookshelf Fantasies.

Shelf Control is a weekly celebration of the unread books on our shelves. Pick a book you own but haven’t read, write a post about it (suggestions: include what it’s about, why you want to read it, and when you got it), and link up! For more info on what Shelf Control is all about, check out my introductory post, here.

Want to join in? Shelf Control posts go up every Wednesday. See the guidelines at the bottom of the post, and jump on board!

Title: The Jane Austen Project
Author: Kathleen A. Flynn
Published: 2017
Length: 384 pages

What it’s about (synopsis via Goodreads):

Perfect for fans of Jane Austen, this engrossing debut novel offers an unusual twist on the legacy of one of the world’s most celebrated and beloved authors: Two researchers from the future are sent back in time to meet Jane and recover a suspected unpublished novel.

London England, 1815: Two travelers—Rachel Katzman and Liam Finucane—arrive in a field, disheveled and weighed down with hidden money. They are not what they seem, but colleagues from a technologically advanced future, posing as a doctor and his spinster sister. While Rachel and Liam aren’t the first team of time travelers, their mission is the most audacious yet: meet, befriend, and steal from Jane Austen.

Carefully selected and rigorously trained by The Royal Institute for Special Topics in Physics, disaster-relief doctor Rachel and actor-turned-scholar Liam have little in common excerpt their extraordinary circumstances. Circumstances that call for Rachel to stifle her independent nature and let Liam take the lead as they infiltrate Austen’s circle via her favorite brother, Henry.

But diagnosing Jane’s fatal illness and obtaining an unpublished novel hinted at in her letters pose enough of a challenge without the convolutions of living a lie. While her friendship with Jane deepens and her relationship with Liam grows complicated, Rachel fights to reconcile her true self with the constrictions of 19th century society. As their portal to the future prepares to close, Rachel and Liam struggle with their directive to leave history as they found it…however heartbreaking that proves.

How and when I got it:

I picked up the Kindle edition in early 2019.

Why I want to read it:

Time travel and Jane Austen??? How could I NOT want to read this book?

We’re flooded with time travel stories these days, and obviously, some are better than others. I don’t know much about this one, but I do love the idea of traveling back to interact with Jane Austen and find an unpublished work.

Given the length of the book, it seems like the plot is probably full of twists and turns, and I do really want to check it out.

What do you think? Would you read this book?

Please share your thoughts!

Literary Potpourri
Wicked Witch’s Blog
<a href="http://<i>Review copy courtesy of the publisher via NetGalley. Full review at <a href="https://bookshelffantasies.com/2021/12/10/book-review-a-history-of-wild-places-by-shea-ernshaw/">Bookshelf Fantasies</a>.Reviews Feed


__________________________________

Want to participate in Shelf Control? Here’s how:

  • Write a blog post about a book that you own that you haven’t read yet.
  • Add your link in the comments or link back from your own post, so I can add you to the participant list.
  • Check out other posts, and…

Have fun!

18 thoughts on “Shelf Control #297: The Jane Austen Project by Kathleen A. Flynn

Comments... We love comments!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s